Erotic art

When I think of Florentine art, I think of the renaissance and lots of naked or near-naked statues and paintings. I ran across two bas relief carvings in the Bargello museum the other day that aren’t at all famous, I just liked them. I’ve been trying to pay attention to what appeals to me in museums, rather than what is supposed to appeal to me because it is famous.

I don’t even know who did these works, but I thought I’d share them with you:

Isn’t this a sexy work of art? All the water? The nakedness? the embrace? the hole in the jug?

Ok, now the other one:

Ok. What the heck is going on here? Why is that satyr thing trying to get something going with that guy? And what’s with the suction cup penis? That thing looks like an elephant’s trunk, especially when you compare it to the man-penis? Are they on a date? Were they just sitting under that tree and all of a sudden the satyr made his move?

I may never know, but I certainly got a big kick out of it. I think this should be more famous than some tiny picture of a woman with an enigmatic smile, but what do I know? As John Cleese said in one of those Monty Python movies, “I may not know art, but I know what i like.”

4 thoughts on “Erotic art

  1. I like your attitude toward seeing, should I say sexy seeing?. As Matisse said, we paint and draw with our eyes. I would add sculpt. I mentioned in a lost comment that the trees are dancing in pink raiment here as we prepare to leave for Texas. Somehow the early spring arrivals seem most poignant and lovely this year. I must be aging. And be glad you are away from the primaries and our increasingly absurd strident ugly culture clash here.
    Media needs to be covered and silenced with luscious art.

    Love to you both, karen

  2. art never needs an explanation. Both are definitely playful if somewhat misrepresenting the correct anatomy.

    • I agree with you. I’m not really looking for an explanation, I just like to imagine the possibilities. I think you really summed up why these appealed to me – they are playful. Who knows. Maybe that is the correct anatomy for a satyr.

Leave a Reply

