Up and running

We finally got out for a run. It was bright and sunny and freezing. While I’m running I always wonder why I do it, but after I run I’m always glad I did it. Running alongside the Arno and out to the far reaches of Cascine Park was beautiful and quiet at 9:00 a.m. on a Wednesday. Closer to our street, I did my best to ignore the strange looks from Italians prompted by my choice of running gear – white running shoes, black leggings, grey running capris, a grey t-shirt, a lavender jacket, and gloves. Ok, I did look a little strange, but I’m running after all. Maybe I’m going to have to invest in a cute little running outfit from the Cascine Market next Tuesday.

Ged, our work-a-day director of the AIFS program, is organizing a running group for students every Tuesday evening. I intend to join them. There is a half marathon in April, which I have no intention of doing, but it also has a 10k, which I am hoping to be ready for. It took me just over 3 weeks to complete “week 2” of my Ease into 10k program – not bad since I moved to a foreign country right in the middle of that. If I stick to the program, running 3 times a week, I should be ready by April. Somebody wish me luck.

6 thoughts on “Up and running

  1. Good luck! You can do it no problem. So much easier to run in a new and beautiful place. Easier to get distracted and forget how much your body aches! xoxo Bob

    • Hi Bob, Thanks for the encouragement. I hope you’re right about the distraction part. I was so frickin’ freezing when we ran on Wednesday that I couldn’t focus on much else. I did see that there was a pyramid in the middle of the park. I wonder why it’s there.

  2. I’m jealous!! I haven’t been able to run since my little *accident* at Thanksgiving, but am hoping to get back into it pretty soon! 🙂

    LOVE!

  3. Lois,

    You will definitely be ready!?! I am sending over some running vibes right now….can you feel them. Have a great time. Sorry, we were unable to make the trip this time around. Maybe next time, hopefully in the near future. I really want you and George to meet my husband, Mike ; ) Have a great time!

    xoxo,

    Kim

    • I hope so. Everyone tells me that if I can run a 5k, then I can run a 10k. I just don’t get that logic because it is TWICE as far. But I will stick with the program and trust that I will be ready in time. Tuesday night I ran with a bunch of 18-22 year olds and I had to keep reminding myself that I am twice as old as they are. But, I hung in there and held my own, just a little slower than the rest. Thanks for all the encouragement and good vibes. I do appreciate it.

Leave a comment